Murphy\’s Bye-Laws

Law #4: Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it. –H.D. Thoreau

Sunday Surrealism

Posted by PintofStout on August 17, 2008

A cozy Sunday morning, breeze blowing slow and steady, the sun shining gaily and I’m enjoying some coffee and a book on the back deck.  Edward Abbey’s Down the River transports me to the San Juan river, floating through the canyons and gazing at the passing sky.  The sun shines speckled light onto the pages of my book through the oak, growing out of the deck and giving shade to most of our house.  This large and happy oak tree also drops acorns on me; its like reading under fire!  I actually caught one – a double, I think – square in the gut while I rocked and read.  I’m thankful it didn’t hit my head.

What a contagious glow is afoot this morning.  The rush and urgency of busy work schedule have all but faded into the background like the faint buzz of the turnpike about a half-mile through the trees behind the house.  This morning all I can hear are rustling leaves and the intermittent THUNK-tink-tink of the dropping acorns bouncing off of the deck.  It seems my tide is still in.  I must abandon the book now, and do some laundry and dishes.  The sun will have burned off the dew from last night by the time I finish those things, and the grass can be mowed for the first time in two weeks.  After that, an arugula salad from the garden with peppers and tomatoes from the same, and perhaps a dressing flavored with herbs cut from the pots on the deck.  Isn’t life delicious?

Here’s a line from Down the River to leave you.

But of course a happy man’s true paradise is his own good nature.

Leave a Reply

 
