Murphy\’s Bye-Laws

Law #4: Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it. –H.D. Thoreau

Pious. Pompous. Pushing Up Daisies

Posted by PintofStout on May 15, 2007

I don’t think I’ve ever actually felt joy at someone’s demise…until today. Jerry Falwell, the scourge of good sense and humility, no longer needs his long distance card to talk directly to God. I say good riddance to the fucking moonbat, the Virtuoso of Vitriol. It’s just a shame he didn’t get to linger on life support and suffer some. Rest in pieces, Jackass.

3 Responses to “Pious. Pompous. Pushing Up Daisies”

  1. Recessive Genes said

    That feeling, my friend, is schadenfraude. Sometimes the nicest thing we can express at a passing like this is “good riddance.”

  2. Bugaboo said

    We can only hope that people will be more gracious towards us when we pass. To me it seems like the vitriol directed at Jerry Falwell (including, disappointingly, that which is posted here) is of a much more nasty and hateful variety than anything he ever said or did.

    One other observation, not necessarily (but likely) directed at this post, is that most people who hate Jerry Falwell actually know very little about him or his life. They instead rely on the limited and biased media attention that he received to form a very severe opinion about a man who, while admittedly had his shortcomings, was also not without value.

    Again, I can only hope that I am not judged as harshly.

  3. Frankly, I could care less what people say when I die; I’ll be dead. I never understand why people can become saints when they die, especially when the most saintly thing they ever did was to have the good graces to die. Sure, that seems pretty hateful. But it is also an indication of what he could do, even in death: bring out the worst in someone.

    As I pour out my hate for the lifeless skinsack, remember also that I am directing it at him, an individual, for actions that he undertook personally; I’m not heaping insult and hate upon a whole group of people based on a vague categorization and label. I’ve haven’t implied culpability to him for the deaths of thousands of innocents, but am simply calling him out as a hypocritical, power-hungry huckster with a soul consisting of black smooshy stuff – and this is all based on his words and his actions, not editorial opinion from a biased media.

    Actually, the largest instigator for me posting these thoughts was the usual beatification with a blind eye of the recently deceased. Were this not the habit of the atrophied, neutered, and biased media, then I would likely have kept this to myself. I’m not even saying that we should not focus on the good of some recently deceased, but completely ignoring the bad is the worst kind of bias. I’m sure Stalin was a great dancer who loved kittens, but that doesn’t cast even a little light on the blood of millions on his hands. Falwell may not have actual blood on his hands, but he spread a message of hate and intolerance for a huge profit under the guise of goodness, which is bad enough.

Leave a Reply

 
