Murphy\’s Bye-Laws

Law #4: Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it. –H.D. Thoreau

You’ve done it now O’Reilly

Posted by B_____ on February 6, 2007

Every day and in an almost ritualistic way I read certain websites and articles.  Some I read for information and others I read just to find out about viewpoints, some I generally agree with and others I do not.  One website I go to looking for viewpoints is www.foxnews.com.  I especially enjoy Bill O’Reilly.  So much crap comes spewing out of his mouth that I’m overwhelmed sometimes.  I normally just write his words off to pandering to his audience and the prostitution of ideas to television ratings and advertising revenue.  I’m fine with that.  Have at it Mr. O’Reilly.  I came across a small line today that really broke my normally even temper.

“Ironically, the American military has fought for centuries to allow Arkin to say these vile things.”  (http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,250481,00.html)

How did this nasty rumor get started that somehow our military has been fighting for American freedom?

There was the Revolutionary War and then… hmm… The Civil War?  While the main issue of the day may have been slavery ultimately the war was about states rights versus the federal government and federal power.  Maybe that was the last time.  At least you could argue for it but I would argue strongly against it.  World War 2 you say?  Maybe if we would have provided logistical support to aid the Germans and Japanese in the invasion of the US mainland they could have provided our American military the opportunity to fight for our freedom.  I don’t want to hear any more garbage like “freedom isn’t free” and “the cost of freedom”.  Both of those things require someone to actively work against individual (the freedom most people think about) freedom.  The only organization that has consistently worked to suppress individual freedom is (surprise!) the state. 

The Congress writes these laws, the President interprets and enforces these laws and the Judicial system makes sure this is all done fairly.  All of these organizations work hard to repress individual freedom.  You can apply this model to state and local governments as well.  I’m hard-pressed to think of an action of any government that doesn’t repress freedom.  Maybe my blind rage is affecting me but I can’t think of anything right now. 

So please don’t tell me that the military is out there defending my freedom.  Even if there was a terrorist attack every day in my home town the only group that would look to curtail my freedom would be the state.  And all of this would be in the name of safety and security.  Currently George W. Bush and Nancy Pelosi have more power to curb my freedom than any terrorist.  I didn’t vote for either.  Given a choice I would choose not to be governed by either but unfortunately they both wield quite a bit of power in my name.  And veterans, you didn’t fight for my freedom, either.  I’m sorry you’ve been misled by popular culture, countless government officials and your mother.  I would gladly take up arms to fight for my own freedom and that of those who I care about.  I’m not a pacifist but I don’t want to hear any more about the government and military defending my freedom.

Leave a Reply

 
