Murphy\’s Bye-Laws

Law #4: Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it. –H.D. Thoreau

Revolution Comes Back Around

Posted by PintofStout on December 30, 2005

I was perusing my entry about Revolution and found it seriously lacking in anything interesting. I did only write it to post the links to the articles and everything else was simply fluff. But it still seems lacking and I feel bad for having subjected all two readers to the sub-par entry. I wasn’t really trying to atone for that, but I did have some thoughts to add and since the first one was so bad I thought I’d make a new post to enhance the chances of it getting read.

I was reading the definitions I listed and in consideration of the scientific definition, wouldn’t ending up at the same point make sense? So the American Heritage Dictionary definition, the one I chose to discount, that read the overthrow of a government and replacing it with another make as much or more sense semantically than the other definition. If the government was overthrown or subverted and replaced with nothing, then it wouldn’t be a revolution in the sense of planetary or scientific revolution.

On the other hand, revolution could be referring to the act of revolt, which as far as I can tell has nothing to do with revolution in the scientific sense. Dictionary.com reveals that revolt is more of an opposition or rebellion or … to overthrow the authority of the state. Revolt, then, is more of a Newton’s Third Law rather than a cyclic thing.

Of course, the English language being what it is – or any language for that matter – a word is no more than a representation of something. That something is whatever the person hearing or reading and the person speaking thinks it to be. When the two persons’ definitions turn out to be seem to be similar, or nearly so, communication is clear and easy. So the word revolution gets a pass in that manner, since nearly everyone would associate it along the lines of the definitions given in the first post. Still, I think I may use the term revolt or rebellion in the place of revolution just to be extra clear and in case I run across someone as big as a smartass as myself.

Leave a Reply

 
