Murphy\’s Bye-Laws

Law #4: Any fool can make a rule, and any fool will mind it. –H.D. Thoreau

Warning: Contains Sarcasm

Posted by PintofStout on February 20, 2006

I was partaking of some delicious pistachios yesterday when I noticed on the package a warning.  It had a big red “A” in a box and read “Allergen Warning: Contains Pistachios.”  Puzzled, I looked at the front of the package again.  It, too, said I had purchased pistachios.  I was, to say the least, quite relieved to know I had bought and eaten the right thing.  I’ve always been a big print kind of guy, so I read the big label first and refer to the small print for clarification.  But maybe there are small print people who read the small print first.  This label must have been for them.

Seriously, I understand the risk to people with peanut allergies and the sensitivity and severity that can take on, and in something not quite as obvious, such as peanut butter, I can understand the need for a reassuring label.  This was a bag of pistachios.  I expected to find pistachios in the bag.  It’s not like I had just started eating and later read the package and said to myself, “Oh, gawd!  That’s what I’ve been eating!?”

We have made ourselves ridiculous with lawsuits and pure old fashion stupidity.  I’m ashamed to be a part of such a group.  Now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to check the labels in the pantry to see what I’ve been consuming all these years.

Addendum: A relevant link from Mental Floss today about labeling.  http://www.mentalfloss.com/2006/02/20/when-it-comes-to-pet-food-labels-basic-is…

2 Responses to “Warning: Contains Sarcasm”

  1. Vikki said

    Hahaha… Yes, some food labeling is ridiculous – like warning that a bag of nuts has nuts in it. But it’s a silly part of something that is a godsend for the millions of people in this country who suffer from food allergies (including my young son).

    I agree with you that a lot of people are sue happy (like the lady who sued McDonalds because the coffee was hot – now there’s a warning on the cup saying “contents are hot”).

    But food labeling legislature was put in place more for hidden ingredients, like listing peanut oil by its lesser known name, arachnis oil. This type of food labeling prevents someone with life threatening allergies from inadvertantly killing themselves. I’m willing to put up with a silly little remind for that. :-)

    Just wanted to post this little note in case someone with food allergies stumbled upon your article, like I did.

    Kudos!

  2. Thanks for the note and link. I have no problem with labeling of food packages, but I do have a problem with telling other people they must do something under threat of force…like legislation. The whole idea of this blog is to eliminate the threat from organized crime in the form of government.

    For great examples of the government doing what’s best for it’s citizens and protecting them, check out Reason Magazine’s March 2007 issue (some articles trickle onto the website (which is in the blogroll) in the following month or two).

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

